Governor General invests 50 recipients into the Order of Military Merit

His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General and Commander-in-Chief of Canada, presided over an Order of Military Merit investiture ceremony at Rideau Hall, on Friday, June 20, 2014. The Governor General bestowed the honour on three Commanders, 13 Officers and 34 Members.

Among the recipients were several Ex Cadets including:


15141 Rear-Admiral Ronald Lloyd, C.M.M., C.D. – Chief of Force Development, Ottawa, Ontario.


17793 Captain(N) Robert Auchterlonie, O.M.M., C.D. – Canadian Forces Base Esquimalt, Victoria, British Columbia;

18780 Lieutenant-Colonel Robert Delaney, O.M.M., C.D. – Canadian Forces Military Police Group Headquarters, Ottawa, Ontario;

16237 Commander Wayne DiPersio, O.M.M., C.D. – Personnel Support Unit, Halifax, Nova Scotia;

14472 Brigadier-General Karl McQuillan, O.M.M., C.D. – Office of the Chief of the Army Staff, Ottawa, Ontario;

13260 Brigadier-General Matthew Overton, O.M.M., C.D. – Office of the Chief of Military Personnel, Ottawa, Ontario;

16816 Colonel Carl Turenne, O.M.M., M.S.C., C.D. – 3 Canadian Division Support Base Edmonton, Edmonton, Alberta.


21186 Captain Theresa Green, M.M.M., C.D. – 3 Canadian Division Headquarters, Edmonton, Alberta;

14808 Major Mario Pelletier, M.M.M., C.D. – 2nd Battalion, Royal 22e Régiment, Québec, Quebec.

Created in 1972, the Order of Military Merit recognizes meritorious service and devotion to duty by members of the Canadian Armed Forces. The Order honours them for their commitment to Canada, according to the following three levels of membership: Commander (C.M.M.), Officer (O.M.M.) and Member (M.M.M.).

If we missed anyone let us know.