13710 Bruce Beavis (Class of 1982) having conducted a poll of three ex-cadets is interested in gauging general interest and ideas around forming an ex-cadet piping group.  Suggestions include an informal piping weekend in Kingston or Toronto extending all the way to forming a band or holding a school in the summer.  If you are a former RMC or RRMC piper or an ex-cadet who took up the pipes in your riper years, please contact Bruce at either bruce.beavis@sbcglobal.net or through the RMC Facebook or LinkedIn sites.

Bruce was a clarinetist in the RRMC band and then dropped music for years.  Three years ago, on a long consulting project in Pittsburgh, his long dormant “inner piper” began to rouse itself.  An impulse chanter and instruction book purchase over a Canada Day weekend and the revelation that YouTube is not a practical way to learn the embellishments led to lessons with George Balderose at the Balmoral School.  He also reports that the Marriott Residence Inn was a terrific place to learn to play a very loud (but inspiring) musical instrument.  For the last two summers, Bruce helped organize the Glasgow-based College of Piping Summer Camps in Boston.  While not in a regular band, he is piping most fall weekends at regattas for his daughter’s crew team in Chicago.  “The faster they row, the sooner I stop!”


Veterans Affairs Subcommittee Elects Senator Joseph A. Day as Chair and Senator Carolyn Stewart-Olsen as Deputy Chair

OTTAWA, September 24, 2014 – At an organization meeting held today, members of the subcommittee on Veterans Affairs elected 7543 Senator Joseph A. Day (Saint John-Kennebecasis – New Brunswick) (Class of 1968) as chair of the subcommittee and Senator Carolyn Stewart Olsen (New Brunswick) as deputy chair.

The other three members of the subcommittee are Senators Daniel Lang (Yukon), Grant Mitchell (Alberta), and Vernon White (Ontario).

The Standing Senate Committee on National Security and Defence created this subcommittee to examine matters pertaining specifically to Canadian Veterans. The subcommittee meets on Wednesdays at noon.

The committee thanks the former chair of the subcommittee, retired Senator Roméo A. Dallaire and Senator David Wells, deputy chair, for their valuable contribution to the work of the Subcommittee on Veterans Affairs.

Over the coming months, the subcommittee will resume its study on the medical, social, and operational impacts of mental health issues affecting serving and retired members of the Canadian Armed Forces, including operational stress injuries (OSIs) such as post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD).

For more information on the subcommittee, its work in past sessions or upcoming meetings, visit: http://senate-senat.ca/vets-e.asp.

Follow the Senate of Canada on Twitter @SenateCA and use the committee hashtag #VEAC for updates.

Le Sous-comité des anciens combattants élit le sénateur Joseph A. Day à sa présidence et la sénatrice Carolyn Stewart-Olsen à sa vice-présidence

OTTAWA, le 24 septembre 2014 – Lors de leur réunion d’aujourd’hui, les membres du Sous comité des anciens combattants ont élu le sénateur 7543 Joseph A. Day (Saint John Kennebecasis – Nouveau Brunswick) et la sénatrice Carolyn Stewart Olsen (Nouveau Brunswick) à titre respectivement de président et de vice présidente du sous comité.

Les trois autres membres sont les sénateurs Daniel Lang (Yukon), Grant Mitchell (Alberta) et Vernon White (Ontario).

Le Comité sénatorial permanent de la sécurité nationale et de la défense a créé ce sous-comité afin d’examiner les questions touchant expressément les anciens combattants canadiens. Le sous-comité se réunit les mercredis à midi.

Le comité tient à remercier l’ancien président du sous-comité, le sénateur à la retraite Roméo A. Dallaire et le sénateur David Wells, vice-président, pour leur grande contribution aux travaux du Sous-comité des anciens combattants.

Au cours des mois à venir, le sous-comité reprendra son étude sur les répercussions médicales, sociales et opérationnelles des problèmes de santé mentale dont sont atteints des membres actifs et à la retraite des Forces canadienne, y compris les blessures de stress opérationnel (BSO) comme l’état de stress post-traumatique.

Pour en savoir plus sur le sous-comité, ses travaux ou ses prochaines réunions, visitez le site : http://senate-senat.ca/vets-f.asp.

Vous pouvez aussi suivre le Sénat du Canada sur Twitter @SenatCA et utiliser le mot clic #VEAC pour vous tenir au courant des activités du comité.


Class of 1964 Meet to Honour One of their Fallen

On Saturday 27 September (during reunion weekend) members of the Class of 1964 along with their families gathered in the Protestant Chapel on the 3rd floor of Yeo hall to honour one of their fallen.

6090 Bishop George Bruce presided at the service for the Dedication of the Memorial Window to 6229 John Carson R22eR.

The service included a prayer for the Dedication of the Window and also the reading of the names of all of the fallen members of the Class of 1964: 5985 Al Nihei; 6221 Michael Bond; 55804 Stew Esdaile; 6106 John Lott; 6202 Bill Purdy; 57889 James Bain; 6243 Patrick Dunne; 6015 Robin Murrell; 6156 Ron Andrews; 6263 Yarko Koropecki; 6076 Doug  Hyndman; 6227 Tom Calow; 6292 Joe Pope; 6005 Jean Marie Huard; 6021 Aime Bosse; 6111 Reynald Richard;6132 JJA Comeau; 6168 Doug Daniels;6041 Ron Veilleux; 6195 Bruce McLeod; 6042 Michel Cataford; 6043 Henri-Paul Martel; 6239 Larry Dick; and 5986 Neil Carscadden.

A great tribute to John Carson and all of the members of the class of 1964.