College Competitive & Recreation Clubs Recognized

Articles and photos courtesy of Christine Powers, Recreation and Intramural Manager

Competitive Club Recognition Evening

The Competitive Clubs Recognition Evening took place this past Wednesday April 3rd. The purpose of this evening was to recognize the performances and contributions of the athletes, coaches and volunteers to their respective clubs throughout the year. During the evening, the following awards were presented:

Special Recognition

25772 OCdt Connor Severin for his contribution over the past 3 years to the Women’s Rugby Club by volunteering his free time to help run Club practices while having the demanding schedule of being a Men’s Rugby Varsity player.

26209 OCdt Nicholas Lightbody for his contribution to the Swimming Club by taking on the head coaching duties for both the Competitive and Recreational members of the club this past season.

Club Specific Awards


25820 OCdt Jenny Allan won the award for Most Valuable Player

25424 OCdt Adam Reece won the award for Dedication and Mentorship

Women’s Rugby

26044 OCdt Ophelia Rose won the award for Most Valuable Player

26091 OCdt Alexia Croizer won the award for Most Improved Player

Running – Cross-Country

26561 OCdt Trevor Reid won the award for Most Valuable Player

25533 OCdt Veronique Trepanier won the award for Most Improved Player

Running – Track and Field

25584 OCdt Felix-Olivier Cordeau won the award for Most Valuable Player

25879 OCdt Jordan Vadala won the award for Most Improved Player


25745 OCdt Alanna Foscarini won the award for Most Valuable Player

26539 OCdt Jacob Ruth won the award for Most Improved Player


26209 OCdt Nicholas Lightbody won the award for Most Valuable Player

25953 OCdt Iain Wilson won the award for Most Improved Player


25815 OCdt Jason Song won the award for Most Valuable Player

26644 OCdt Gabriella Hong won the award for Rookie of the Year

Congratulations to the award recipients and thank you again to all of you who contribute to the RMCC Competitive Club program.

More photos (click to enlarge):


Recreation Club Recognition Evening

On Thursday, April 4th the Athletics Dept. hosted a social for the 26 RMC Recreation Clubs to acknowledge Cadets and Staff for contributing their time and energy to helping their clubs become successful and highly active.

The recognition ceremony was kicked off with some entertainment by members of the RMC Stage Band while the rest of the guests socialized and had a bite to eat.

During the ceremony, all 2012-2013 Club presidents were thanked for their time and leadership in running their respective clubs while the supervisors were also acknowledged for their support and guidance. Amongst these supervisors,the following four who are ending their term as supervisor were given a gift in appreciation for efforts with their respective clubs:

Maj Lynne Poirier – RMC Curling Club

Capt Jean-Olivier Berger – RMC Climbing Club (not present)

LCdr Trevor Davies – RMC Triathlon Club

Graeme Duke-Gibbs – Sailing & Yacht Club

The final recognitions were for the Volunteer of the Year Award which is presented annually to an Officer Cadet who has demonstrated leadership, commitment and has made a significant contribution to their respective club. This year’s nominees were:

26181 OCdt Travis Lane – Curling Club

26500 OCdt Richard Barnes – Triathlon Club

26268 OCdt Stephanie Paquette – Expedition Club

25596 OCdt Alida Stockermans – Triathlon Club

26861 OCdt Benjamin Burnell – Theatre Club

26550 OCdt Shane Coote – Expedition Club

26512 OCdt Sean Manser – Curling Club

26508 OCdt Matthew Howse – Scuba Club

25780 OCdt Tyler O’Connor – Waterpolo Club

The winner of the Volunteer of the Year Award was 26268 OCdt Stephanie Paquette, who has made a tremendous impact on the Expedition club. OCdt Paquette was unfortunately away in Petawawa training with the Sandhurst Team and could not be present to accept her award.

Since becoming Club President last Fall, OCdt Paquette has played an important role in organizing a variety of activities for the Expedition club. From weekend camping trips to large-scale expeditions to India and the Arctic, OCdt Paquette puts endless amounts of time into organizing these events for the club. What is most impressive is that she has put much of her time into organizing activities for which she is not even going to take part in. She has demonstrated very high levels of organization and leadership and she is a very deserving winner of the Volunteer of the Year Award.

Congratulations to the award recipients and thank you again to all of you who contribute to the RMCC Recreation Clubs.

Photos from the evening (click to enlarge):





The RMCC Expedition Club’s intent is to provide cadets with international experiences that broaden their minds. As such, the Expedition Club will be sending 12 Officer Cadets to India, April 27th-May 12th 2013.

The India expedition will be a unique experience to the officer cadets as it will be entirely planned and executed by the members of the team. The most difficult part of any trip is the planning phase, and often it is much easier to delegate this necessity to an outside agency. However, the Expedition Club believes that the cadets are capable of planning such a trip, and the experiences gained from planning will increase the training value of the expedition.

The India Expedition will take the team through the cultural centres of southern India, trekking by the hill stations and the tea estates of the Western Ghats, and sailing by the coastal villages of the Arabian Sea, and finally the team will have a chance to explore the architectural wonders of the northern India. As a part of the itinerary, the team has been invited to the Canadian High Commission in New Delhi to have a chance to speak with the Defence Attaché and his staff regarding regional issues that the team is interested in.

This year, the team is led by (III) Raakesh Bharathi (6 Sqn), assisted by (I) Ali Mansour (7 Sqn).

The 2013 India Expedition Team Roster:

(III) Raakesh Bharathi – 6 Sqn – IC; (I) Ali Mansour – 7 Sqn – 2IC

(II) Mitchell Binding – 6 Sqn; (I) Daniel Falco – 8 Sqn; (I) Jonathan Hammill – 3 Sqn;

(II) James Heard – 2 Sqn; (II) Kalina Larocque – 11 Sqn; (II) Charlotte Raymond – 3 Sqn;

(III) Francois Savard – 5 Sqn;; (II) Sarah Staples – 7 sqn; (II) Mari Sun – 8 Sqn; (IV) Yana Voldarets – 10 Sqn

Among the tasks that still have to be completed, the team is working with CDU3 to ensure that members are properly immunized and briefed about the potential health hazards. Members will also be conducting academic research in order to better understand the country. These academic presentations are being prepared, by each team member, about topics ranging from politics to geography to religion. This extensive prior research enables the team to absorb more than an average traveller while travelling in India – increasing the overall education value of the expedition.

Currently in the final phase of planning for the expedition, the team is examining pre-deployment logistics, mitigating risks in the country, and establishing contacts at each destination to ensure that the team is well prepared for the challenges ahead.

Less than one month to go before the adventure begins!

Leave a Comment